Press Report w/e 26/11/2017

by | Nov 28, 2017 | Press Reports

There was a last minute dash for both championship and league points at the weekend, which also saw the black and white vest crossing the line first.

Sandra Cass coming into the finish at Ravenstonedale

The 10K race at a somewhat icy Ravenstonedale on Saturday saw both types of points on offer. Alex Kiel won the race, finishing the undulating distance around the countryside in 34:23. He was followed in by Brian Martin (41:02 and first in his age category), Michael Thompson (43:13), Adrian Cottam (43:15), Rob Dent (43:19), Louise Trainor (43:50), Gareth Kyle (45:23), Brian McLaren (45:59), Rebecca Howard (46:13), Andrew Walker (47:00), Michael Oliver (48:20), Simon Rek (48:42), Phil Clarke (50:46), Rob Gillham (51:31), David Ledgerwood (52:01), Mike Brown (52:21), Abigail Willson (53:38), Gavin Armstrong (54:08), Anthony Corbett (54:14), Juliette McLaren (54:58), Darren Alderson (55:07), Sandra Martin (55:38), Sandra Cass (56:23), Julie Whinn (56:36), James Simpson (58:03), Jamie Pratt (58:05), Tracey Plaskitt (1:00:55), Lisa Reeve (1:01:10, PB), Lisa Jenkins (1:03:08), Karen Dove (1:11:11) and Emily Beaumont (1:11:12).

Some runners the doubled up the next day for the Gavin Duffy Memorial race at Cowpen Bewley, also a championship race, and held in honour of the late Billingham Marsh House runner. Over the two-lap 5K course, Marc Ellis came home in tenth place overall in 20:21 along with Brian Martin (21:47 and first in his age category), Gary Read (24:15), Phil Rutter (24:28), Dan Rowlands (24:44), Lucia Minto (25:41), Simon Rek (25:53), Rob Gillham (26:58), David Ledgerwood (28:03), Peter Rowley (29:34), Emily Beaumont (30:40), Sandra Martin (30:55), Gill Colling (31:23) and Anna Hardy (32:52).

Six headed up to Ponteland for the Run Northumberland 10 mile race. Over a fairly undulating course, Adrian Colbourne completed the distance in 1:13:05 followed by Diane Vaughan (1:18:48 and first in her age category), Angela Clement (1:32:32), Richard Hughes (1:35:11), Lucy Bendle (2:01:24) and Lisa Alderson (2:03:40).

In the Saturday morning parkruns, the cancellation of the South Park run meant the biggest turnout was at Sedgefield where Adrian Colbourne finished in 21:15 followed by Dave Thompson (23:31), Lewis Boshier (25:28), Wendy Colling (25:31), Michelle Boshier (25:58), Sarah Wilson (26:19), Mark Blewitt (30:02), Emily Beaumont (32:31), Claire Hewitt (34:43), Sally Watson (34:45), Robert Marriott (37:40) and Jeff Marriott (37:43). At Albert Park, Stephen Moore finished in 27:23, Phil Clarke ran at Catterick in 25:32, Lucia Minto did the Tees Barrage run in 24:02 while Hannah Alderson completed the Druridge Bay run in 29:25. In Sheffield, Darryn Wood did the Concord run in 52:16 while north of the border, Olly Moore ran at Falkirk in 28:49.