Press Report w/e 15/12/2019

by | Dec 19, 2019 | Press Reports

A fairly quiet week saw a few Quakers heading north for the region’s biggest cross country fixture.

Hannah Plaschkes on her way to a top ten finish at Alnwick

The grounds of Alnwick Castle were the venue for the North East Cross Country Championships. In the women’s race, which covered 8K over two laps, Hannah Plaschkes finished in seventh place overall in 34:17 along with Dawn Richardson in 36:23. In the men’s race, Rob Dent completed the three-lap 12K route in 57:18 along with Graham Park in 1:10:41.

Two headed over to the coast at Loftus for the Poultry Run. Michael Joyeux finished the 8 mile multi terrain route in second place overall in 46:41 along with Gemma Eddy in 1:26:36.

Diane Vaughan was down in the capital for the Victoria Park 10K, completing the route around the park in 45:51 and second in her age category.

The previous week had seen Michael Joyeux head down to Shropshire for the Telford 10K, finishing the race there in 32:59.

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Dave Jones finished at South Park in 19:18 followed by David Matthew (19:38), Neil Gooding (19:59), Tom Chapman (20:52), Shane Lester (22:12), David Whittle (23:00), David Aiken (23:29), Rebecca Howard (23:31), Rob Gillham (24:01), Peter Rowley (24:49), Stuart Masterman (25:18), Claire Chapman (26:01), Lisa Bowerbank (26:51), Elizabeth Kennedy (27:23), Kathryn Gray (27:28), Julie Bell (27:55), Bryan Dale (28:17), Kirsty Smith Yates (28:18), Paul Taylor (28:21), John Cooke (28:28), Mark Trowles (28:45), Judith Russell (28:56), Emma Joyeux (28:58), Chris Land (30:10), Michael King (30:46), Michelle Scruby (31:55), Peter Cowan (32:28), Angela Taylor (32:56), Jo Meynell (33:02), Sally Singleton (33:04), Dawn Raper (36:51), Dawn Johnston (37:56), Helen Ridley (37:56) and Michelle Dale (38:22).

At Catterick, Ian Hart finished in 24:22 along with Mike Watson (24:24), Hannah Alderson (26:49), Darren Alderson (27:53), Phil Clarke (30:02) and Lisa Alderson (31:53) while at Sedgefield, Paul Dalton ran there in 19:10 followed by April Corbett (27:13), Anthony Corbett (27:13), Richard Payne (29:59) and Mark Blewitt (30:35). Helen Whiting did the Tees Barrage run in 33:22, Adrian Cottam ran at Riverside in 20:43, Phil Rutter finished at Redcar in 22:59, Helen Spaven did the Fountains Abbey run in 33:27 and David Stewart ran at Bushy in 28:58.

Flying the flag overseas was Paul Ryan who did the Byxbee run near San Jose, USA in 30:22.