Press Report w/e 16/10/2016

by | Oct 18, 2016 | Press Reports

A fairly quiet week of running saw most Quakers heading off road in search of races.

The latest championship race took place at Boroughbridge – the Shaun Lee Johnstone Memorial 10 mile race – which saw Julie Whinn take full advantage of being the sole Quaker there to claim the maximum points, finishing the multi-terrain race in 1:34:18.

Up at the Gibside Fruit Bowl trail race, held in the grounds of the Gibside Estate, Diane Vaughan ran the 6 mile route in 1:01:27, along with Richard Hughes (1:02:56), Joanne Dewar (1:15:19) and Sarah Bayles (1:24:40).

Further west, Rebecca Howard was the sole Quaker at the Allenheads fell race, a 5.5 mile route across footpaths, open moorland climbs and even fords, finishing in 58:41.


Michelle Boshier and Emily Beaumont clearly enjoying running twice around Ennerdale Water!

Three headed over to Cumbria for the Ennerdale Trail races, on a route which went all the way round Ennerdale Water itself. In the 50K distance, which covered two laps, Emily Beaumont and Michelle Boshier finished together in 8:05:03, while Mark Robinson completed the single lap 25K distance in 2:44:16.

Two runners travelled to Manchester for the half marathon event there; Gemma Eddy completing the 13.1 mile race in 2:01:48, with Ronald Murray not far behind in 2:10:39.

Also running the same distance was Robert Kirby, who took part in the Heart of Eden half marathon at Appleby in Cumbria, finishing the run in 2:04:36.

The previous week had seen Sarah Bayles also heading over to Cumbria for the Penrith 10K race, completing the trail route in 1:13:54.

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Michael Joyeux was first across the line at South Park in 17:20, followed by Paul Dalton (17:43), Dave Jones (18:20), David Todd (19:45), Ed Griffiths (20:26), Louise Trainor (20:39), Nick Wadd (21:19), David Whittle (22:36), Lewis Boshier (23:13), Gary Read (23:14), Peter Rowley (23:49), David Mclachlan (24:08), Dale Chapman (24:29), Gavin Armstrong (24:36), Danny Gordon (24:56), Rebecca Bowes (25:02), Neil Harrington (25:29), Wendy Noble (27:21), Tracey Plaskitt (27:57), Michelle Scruby (28:03), Chris Land (28:19), John Whinn (28:42), Fin Fox (28:44), Brian Mclaren (28:59), Olly Moore (29:30), Michael King (31:14), Michelle Dale (31:34), Adrian Dent (38:39), Linda Harrington (38:53) and Jan Waite (45:23).

There was another first finisher at Sedgefield, where Kyle Cook completed the run in 17:49 (PB), along with Dave Thompson (24:01), Sarah Watson (24:51), Anthony Corbett (24:52), Darren Alderson (26:16), Jamie Pratt (26:43), Gemma Hammond (27:36), Anna Hardy (30:08), Richard Payne (31:29), Lisa Alderson (36:14) and Julie Remmer (37:48). Elsewhere, Mike Brown did the run at Albert Park in 20:40, while David Ledgerwood headed north of the border to do the Glasgow Tollcross run in 27:19.