Press Report w/e 14/08/2016

by | Aug 17, 2016 | Press Reports

Most runners headed off road for races last week, which once again saw the black and white vest crossing the line first in one of them.

A smiling Lisa Johnstone coming into the finish at South Park

A smiling Lisa Johnstone coming into the finish at South Park

The fifth event of the Hardmoors Trail series, the Wainstones, took place at the weekend, on a route which took in the part of the Cleveland Way covering Clay Bank and the Lordstones. In the marathon distance, Phil Rutter completed the off-road route in 4:59:33, with Anthony Corbett, April Corbett, Mark Colling & Wendy Colling all coming in together in 6:50:02. The half marathon distance saw Michael Joyeux maintaining his unbeaten streak for the year, winning for the fifth time, in 1:48:18. He was followed by Mark Robinson in 2:08:12 (and in eighth place overall), with Gill Colling and Michelle Boshier finishing together in 3:39:21.

Three headed up to South Shields for the 10 mile race there, held on a trail route along the coast. Diane Vaughan completed the run in 1:19:47 along with Richard Hughes (1:21:15) and Chrissie Moore (1:56:28)

Also travelling north was Carol Penney who ran the Gateshead 10K, a trail route through the Derwent Water Country Park, in 1:03:04.

Going south, meanwhile, was Peter Rowley who did the Askern 10 mile race, an undulating route near Doncaster, in 1:25:32

Midweek had seen the third and final of this year’s summer handicap races, a second running of the Mowden Meander on a route along the Baydale Beck and Coniscliffe Grange footpaths. Gavin Armstrong was first to finish the 7.5K distance in an aggregate time of 56:23. He was followed in by Sarah McTimoney (57:29), Sarah Bayles (58:31), Alex Kiel (59:09 and the fastest runner on the night), Paul Dalton (59:20), Nick Watson (59:22), Anna Hardy (59:29), Allan Parsons (59:31), Andrew Dixon (59:40), Chris Minto (59:44), Dave Brown (59:46), Jane Jeffries (59:49), Jamie Norman (1:00:00), Andy Walker (1:00:10), Lindsey Lester (1:00:12), Phil Rutter (1:00:19), Alan Prest (1:00:19), Graham Park (1:00:21), Sue New (1:00:39), Mark Robinson (1:00:42), Rob Dent (1:00:48), Lee Morris (1:00:51), Claire Norman (1:01:02), Ian Hammond (1:01:09), Phil Clarke (1:01:25), Paul Pomfret (1:01:45), Jamie Pratt (1:01:46), Michael King (1:03:11), Grainne Duffy (1:03:13), Tony Allen (1:03:31), John Hall (1:03:36), Angela Clemmens (1:04:33) and Sally Singleton (1:06:28). Following the race Gill Wallis was declared the overall winner of this year’s handicap series.

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Dave Jones finished at South Park in 18:16, followed by Gary Read (20:22), Steven Major (21:08), Adrian Gooding (21:11), David Todd (21:29), Katherine Hackett (22:14), Ian Bond (22:36), Rebecca Bowes (24:36), Lewis Boshier (25:06), Michelle Boshier (25:08), David Ptak (25:35), Danny Gordon (25:42), Kevin Barnett (26:51), Diane Adkins (28:42), Alec Cinamon (28:43), Sally Singleton (29:01), Lisa Johnstone (29:06), Brian Dixon (29:12), Grainne Duffy (31:59), Michael King (33:34), Tristen Coad (35:23), Kaye Boyce (35:46) and Adrian Dent (38:03).

There was plenty of tourism happening at the weekend as well. Wendy Colling did the Sedgefield run in 25:44, Anna Hardy ran at Tees barrage in 27:03, while Kyle Cook finished at Hackworth in 19:25.Stephen Moore did the run at Albert Park in 22:05, Peter Rowley headed to Northallerton to finish there in 24:23 while Darren Alderson travelled up to Whitley Bay, completing the run in 27:21. North of the border, David Ledgerwood was in Glasgow to do the Strathclyde run in 25:45.