Press Report w/e 25/10/2015

by | Oct 27, 2015 | Press Reports

Most Quakers didn’t have far to travel at the weekend as the majority packed their spikes and headed down the road to Middlesbrough.

Acklam played host to the second of this season’s cross country fixtures, where the recent nice weather had left the course fairly mud-free. The women’s race, which also included the over 65 men, covered 3.5 miles over a two lap course. Helen Brown was first to finish in 30:15, followed by Danny Gordon (30:29), Bev Snook (32:04), Wendy Noble (33:16), Sarah Watson (33:17), Hannah Robinson (33:37), Gill Colling (36:21) and Emma Joyeux (47:55).

The men’s race, which lasted 6.2 miles over a four lap course, saw Michael Parry first home in 42:33, then Andrew Vernon (46:24), Darren Wright (48:27), Steve Snook (49:02), Phil Rutter (49:02), Paul Roberts (49:39), Gary Read (50:46), Phil Clarke (51:05), Rob Gillham (52:28), Iain Clyde (54:43), Andrew Dixon (55:58) and Alec Cinamon (1:09:26).

Up in Northumberland, Michael Thompson was the sole Quaker at the Castles Marathon. Over a two lap route which started and finished at Bamburgh Castle, he completed the 26.2 mile distance in 3:33:23.

At Redcar, Bridget Stewart completed the Locke Park 10 mile race, which comprised ten one-mile laps of the park, in 1:21:45 (PB).

Three headed off road for the Osmotherley Trail Races, which took in parts of the Cleveland Way along the route. Rebecca Bowes completed the 20K distance in 2:22:40, while Lewis and Michelle Boshier finished the 12K route together in 1:19:54.

Those runners who fancied something a bit more daring dug out their headtorches and headed over to Chop Gate for the Hardmoors Night Race. Over the short route, which covered 5.3 miles, Michael King finished second overall in 49:14, while in the 9.6 mile distance, Mark Colling, Roy MacDougall and Anthony Corbett went round together in 2:24.

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Michael Joyeux finished at South Park in 18:20, followed by Dave Jones (20:14), Stephen Moore (22:14 in his 300th parkrun), Iain Clyde (22:32), Phil Rutter (22:39), Paul Roberts (23:16), Rob Gillham (23:24), Matthew Hall (24:05), Peter Rowley (24:10), Paul Dodds (24:30), Gary Read (24:31), Gavin Armstrong (24:49), Emily Mann (26:19), Julie Whinn (26:25), Lee Morris (27:16), Wendy Noble (27:28), Fin Fox (27:34), Sally Singleton (28:18), Heidi Craggs (28:54), Duncan O’neil (28:57), Michelle Scruby (30:23), Gill Colling (31:04), Lucy Bendle (31:25), Marc Ellis (31:46), Fiona Dixon (32:06), Michael King (33:43), Jan Waite (34:15) and Paul Ryan (35:46).

Paul Dalton was the first finisher at Tees Barrage in 18:08, while over at Sedgefield, Andrew Dixon completed the run in 24:12 along with Sandra Cass (26:37), Wendy Colling (26:38) and Diane Adkins (32:36). Further afield, Lena Rusa did the run at South Shields in 37:04, while Kevin Scott finished at Harrogate in 28:57.

Alec Cinnamon gives the seal of approval to his Quaker escort into the finish at Acklam! Alec Cinnamon gives the seal of approval to his Quaker escort into the finish at Acklam!