Press Report: 22nd October 2013

by | Oct 22, 2013 | Press Reports

York saw its inaugural marathon take place on the 20th October.  Michael Joyeux put in a sensational
performance to record a personal best time of 2:48:28, despite having concentrated his training for 10k races this year. Stephen Moore was next home for the club in 3:29:01, followed by Paul Keedy in 3:55:52. Diane Vaughan was first Quaker lady in 3:58:21, followed by Wendy Colling in 4:18:10, Anthony Corbett in 4:20:54, Mark Colling in 4:31:01 and Emma Whitworth in a personal best of 5:13:39.

The winner of the Quakers Club Championship was determined at the weekend; as Dean Newton finished in third place overall at the Shaun Lee Johnstone Memorial at Boroughbridge.  He completed the 10 mile, multi terrain race in 62:34 to secure maximum points for both the race and the Championship.  Also representing the club were Peter Rowley (84:28), Paul Jefferies (84:49), Sandra Cass and April Corbett (both 94:37), Julie Whinn (98:50) and John Whinn (99:36).

 Dave Thompson and Roy MacDougall took part in the Round Rotherham 50 mile ultra marathon last Saturday, Dave finishing in 9:53:52 and Roy in 12:04:05.  Annette Clark and Charlie Bogg completed the John O Gaunt 25 mile event, recording 5:32.

In other races, Joanne Dewar completed the Gibside Fruit Bowl Trail Race in 76:14 and Katherine Hackett recorded 1:32:54 at the Birmingham half marathon.

In local park runs, Sedgefield saw Andrew Knox finish first for the club in 21:29, followed by Abbie Hull (26:31), Nicola Howe (27:02), and Jill Wallis (35:35).  At Tees Barrage, Paul Dalton and John Brant completed the course in 18:34 and 25:25 respectively.  Another good turnout at Darlington saw runs by Nick Mason (18:49), Michael Joyeux (19:43), Mark Robinson (19:45), Dawn Richardson (first lady in 19:56), Nick Wadd (20:58), Dave McLachlan (21:00), Corinne Murray (21:32), Ewan Henderson (22:16), Peter Rowley (22:53), Ian Bond (23:32), Danny Gordon (23:58), Sarah Davies (26:27), Lewis Boshier (26:30), Michelle Boshier (26:32), Gillian Harris (27:41), Will Todd (27:51), Martin Rowell (28:30), Michael King (29:29), David Todd (30:30) and Duncan O’Neil (31:09).

Mr Joyeux looking remarkably fresh after his marathon Mr Joyeux looking remarkably fresh after his marathon