Press Report w/e 05/03/2017

by | Mar 7, 2017 | Press Reports

For once Quakers weren’t to be found in their running gear as this year’s presentation night rolled around.

Athlete of the Year Brian Martin receiving his award from chairman Graham Park

The Athlete of the Year Award went, for the second year running, to Brian Martin, most notably in recognition of qualifying to represent England at Masters level. The Senior Male and Female awards for the year went to Alex Kiel and Rebecca Howard, while Marc Ellis and Dawn Richardson took home the Veteran Male and Female awards. The Most Improved Awards, to recognise those who had made the biggest strides during the past year went to Diane Adkins and Billy Harris, while Ian Readman was the recipient of the new “The one who slipped through the net” award.

In the Club Championship, Brian Martin took the title, ahead of Michael Joyeux in second and Paul Dalton in third. Dawn Richardson was the highest placed female over the year, followed by Sandra Martin in second and Julie Whinn in third. The 10K league winners (in league order) were Paul Dalton, Kyle Cook, Dave Jones, Gary Read, Rebecca Howard, Lindsey Lester, Samuel Joblin, Andrew Dixon, David Ledgerwood, Wendy Noble and Daz Wood.

In the other race related awards, Lewis Boshier won the Parkrun Challenge, with Gill Wallis walking away with last year’s Summer Trail Race Handicap title. In the year-long 5K Handicap Series, Lewis Boshier won a close battle with Billy Harris and Lindsey Lester who placed second and third. The Cross Country awards, for those who had taken part in the discipline over the winter months, went to Louise Trainor and David Ledgerwood.

The Special Merit Awards, to recognise those runners with some particularly noteworthy achievements went to Richard Hughes (for completing his epic six-day, 155 mile Fire & Ice Challenge in Iceland), Wendy Colling         (for completing the Hardmoors 160 mile race in just over 48 hours), Annette Clarke (for being the first ever female finisher in the 92 mile West Highland Way Challenge) and Michael Joyeux (for his clean sweep of winning all seven Hardmoors trail half marathons).

The Catastrophe Award, for the biggest slip-up during the year, went to Michael Joyeux, for going the wrong way while leading a race, taking all the front-runners along too (though a certain runner from New Marske Harriers should possibly share this award with him!)

Four runners headed further afield at the weekend in search of half marathons. At the Haweswater half marathon, held on an out-and-back route along the lake itself, Alex Kiel finished in fourth place overall in 1:15:05, with Robert Kirby coming home in 1:58:41.

Also running the 13.1 mile distance was Paul Dalton, who completed the windy race held on the Welsh island of Anglesey in 1:20:39

Meanwhile, in Worcestershire, Lyn Hatch completed the half marathon down in Droitwich in 2:01:31.

Nearer to home, a group of runners headed down to Lightwater Valley for the 10K race being held in the grounds of the amusement park itself. Darren Alderson was first home for the club over the partially off-road route in 52:57 followed by Jamie Pratt (54:25), Tracey Plaskitt (59:32), Michelle Dale (1:01:22), Alan Prest (1:10:59), Emily Beaumont (1:12:25), Karen Dove (1:12:25) and Lisa Alderson (1:14:03).

The previous week had seen half a dozen runners take part in the High Cup Nick fell race in the northern Pennines. Over a route covering 9.3 miles and taking in 1500 feet of climb, Ewan Henderson finished in 1:36:47 along with Andrew Lambe (1:45:06), Emma Bland (2:14:03), Roy McDougal (2:26:06), Emily Beaumont (2:26:13) and  Abbie Hull (2:26:30).

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Kyle Cook finished at South Park in 17:31 followed by Marc Ellis (17:57), David Todd (19:47), Billy Harris (20:22), Andrew Vernon (20:47), Phil Rutter (21:05), Ed Griffiths (21:06), Dave Jones (21:40), Michael Ladyman (21:43), Steven Major (22:37), Ty Hankinson (22:51), Rebecca Howard (22:53), Rob Gillham (22:56), Gary Read (23:19), Peter Rowley (23:53), Jamie Pratt (23:58), Paul Roberts (24:19), Darren Alderson (24:22), Stuart Masterman (24:27), Dale Chapman (24:40), Anna Hardy (25:06), Nicola Wells (25:21), Abigail Willson (25:22), David Ledgerwood (25:23), Gavin Armstrong (26:06), Lewis Boshier (26:12), Michelle Boshier (26:12), Danny Gordon (26:19), Olly Moore (26:29), Juliette Mclaren (26:31), Julie Bell (27:32), Gemma Hammond (28:47), Michael King (28:49), Lisa Jenkins (29:05), Michelle Dale (29:09), Gill Colling (29:09), Grainne Duffy (30:15), Lee Morris (30:30), Charlie Johnson (31:41), Mark Trowles (31:55), Fin Fox (32:00), Diane Lockhart (32:22), Lisa Alderson (33:46), Sarah Watson (33:51), Sharon Carr (33:51), Nichola Jordan (33:52), Lisa Johnstone (33:56), Nicola Arkley (34:09), Sarah Bayles (34:11), Rachel Ryan (38:12), Jan Waite (39:22), Linda Harrington (41:31), Sue New (41:33) and Gemma Marshall (51:48).

At Sedgefield, Dave Thompson finished in 23:38 along with Wendy Colling (25:57), Richard Payne (26:11), Jeff Marriott (30:44), Emily Beaumont (31:10) and Karen Dove (33:49), while at Tees Barrage, Adrian Colbourne and Caroline Moses ran there in 26:21 and 28:42 respectively. Anthony Corbett completed Hackworth’s 200th parkrun in 28:07, Stephen Moore ran at Albert Park in 23:56, while Darryn Wood finished at Gateshead in 29:49. Further afield at the Penrhyn run in Wales, Paul Dalton was first across the line there in 18:21 along with Clare Stradling in 26:48, while Steven Johnston did the run at Chester in 38:12.