Press Report w/e 24/11/2019

by | Dec 3, 2019 | Press Reports

Another quiet week saw three Quakers running through the night at the latest Hardmoors event, while two others doubled up for the day.

Julie Whinn at a muddy Cowpen Bewley

The Hardwolds 80 took place on a route which followed the Wolds Way from Hessle to Filey. Wendy Colling completed the distance in 21 hours 9 minutes (and coming first in her age category), followed by Emily Beaumont in 22 hours, with Tom Chapman in 22 hours 5 minutes.

The latest cross country event was held at a flat, but very muddy Fox Rush at Redcar. In the women’s race, which also included the over 65 men, Viv Hardwick completed the two-lap 5.8K distance in 31:19 followed by Hannah Alderson (34:48), Karen Garfield (35:26), Gillian Harris (35:38), Danny Gordon (35:47), Kathryn Plant (38:21), Alison Hardwick (43:09) and Rachel Grayson (44:15). In the men’s race, covering 8.6K over three laps, Dave Jones finished in 36:09 along with Rob Dent (39:48), Billy Harris (40:58), Brian McLaren (41:41), David Todd (43:48), Rob Gilham (44:50) and David Whittle (46:13).

The penultimate championship race took place over at Cowpen Bewley, the Gavin Duffy 5K, held in honour of the late Billingham Marsh House Harrier. Louise Trainor completed the undulating two-lap route in 24:39 along with Rob Gillham (27:47), Nigel Eddy (29:57), Julie Whinn (30:15), Matt Jackson (34:03), Gemma Eddy (36:22) and Gill Wallis (42:11).

Paul Dalton was the sole Quaker at the Northumberland 10 mile race up at Ponteland, completing the route in 1:03:45 and coming third in his age category.

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Dave Jones finished at South Park in 18:45 followed by David Matthew (19:13), Dawn Richardson (19:53), David Aiken (21:00), Rebecca Howard (21:07), Gareth Kyle (21:21), Andrew Vernon (21:29), Gary Read (21:33), David Todd (21:52), Phil Rutter (22:11), Shane Lester (22:17), Patrick Robson (22:23), Adrian Cottam (22:38), Rob Gillham (23:41), Steven Major (24:21), Jonathan Eccles (24:40), Stuart Masterman (25:08), Lisa Bowerbank (25:43), Neil Scollick (27:10), Julie Bell (27:21), Hannah Alderson (28:07), Gill Colling (28:14), Bryan Dale (28:24), Elizabeth Kennedy (28:30), Mark Trowles (28:36), Chris Evans (29:00), Martin Mcgregor (29:21), Anneli Mackenzie Brown (29:33), Michael King (30:33), Chris Land (30:40), Ian Hamond (33:16), Sarah Bayles (33:29), Rebecca Bowes (33:30), Lee Morris (33:44), Helen Ridley (35:49), Lisa Johnstone (35:49), Fiona Dixon (37:32), Christopher Parsons (37:32), Karen Dove (37:33), Dawn Raper (42:35) and Wendy Thompson (42:36).

At Sedgefield, Michael Thompson finished in 22:04 along with Angela Clement (26:26), Jo Meynell (29:37), Mark Blewitt (31:33) and Sally Singleton (34:55), while at Catterick, Phil Clarke ran there in 31:07 followed by Anne-Michelle Whitley (31:45), Anna Hardy (31:45) and Philippa Rayner (31:47). At Albert Park, Ian Hart and Mike Watson finished in 24:27 and 25:40 respectively, while at Stewart Park, Helen Whiting ran there in 31:48. Anthony Corbett did the Tyne Green run in 25:02, Janette Croft ran at the Grange in 31:25, Helen Spaven finished at Castle Howard in 32:27, Peter Rowley did the Penrith run in 24:49 while David Stewart ran at Bushy in 29:11.