Press Report w/e 16/02/2020

by | Feb 17, 2020 | Press Reports

Most races fell victim to the stormy weather, though some survived, including the latest championship race.

Some fairly muddy Quakers at Cowpen Bewley!

The Absent Friends trail race took place over at a muddy Cowpen Bewley, the route having to be reduced due to flooding on part of the route. Dave Jones completed the 4.7 mile off-road route in fourth place overall in 29:30 followed by Andrew Dixon (36:39), Simon Rek (37:02), Rob Gillham (40:22), Darren Alderson (40:42), Alison Hardwick (51:01) and Viv Hardwick (51:01).

The trio of Annette Clarke, Charlie Bogg and Dave Thompson were in the south of the Lake District for the Silverdale Circuit. On a route which also had to be reduced due to flooding, they completed the revised 18 mile route together in 3 hours 52 minutes.

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Dave Jones finished at South Park in 19:00 followed by David Matthew (19:12), Neil Gooding (20:16), Gareth Kyle (20:39), Gary Read (21:23), Phil Rutter (22:04), David Whittle (22:18), Ed Griffiths (22:58), Thomas Gannaway (23:23), Jonathan Eccles (23:30), Ginny Gannaway (23:33), Phil Clarke (23:55), Rob Gillham (24:33), Stuart Masterman (24:46), Peter Rowley (24:50), Lisa Bowerbank (25:06), Tom Chapman (25:08), Jennifer Hardy (26:58), Darren Alderson (27:02), Tony Smith (27:06), Julie Bell (27:17), Elizabeth Kennedy (27:22), Kathryn Gray (27:25), Jo Meynell (28:24), Julie Whinn (28:34), Peter Cowan (28:56), Gill Colling (29:14), Rachel Maddison (29:16), Emma Joyeux (29:33), Bryan Dale (29:39), Martin Mcgregor (29:43), Michelle Scruby (29:48), Mark Trowles (29:52), Stephen Moore (30:07), Charlie Johnson (32:05), Jes Smith (32:10), Rachel Grayson (33:55), Lisa Alderson (33:57), Dawn Raper (37:53), Charlotte Kyle (38:21), Michael King (39:04), Andy Walker (43:25), Mark Johnston (43:27) and Dawn Johnston (43:29).

At Albert Park, Ian Hart finished in 22:46 along with Mike Watson (24:12), Ruth Tooley (27:00), Helen Clarke (27:49), Hannah Alderson (27:49) and Paul Ryan (33:11), while at Sedgefield, Wendy Colling ran there in 25:12 followed by Mark Blewitt (29:20), Paul Hutchinson (29:55), Lee Morris (31:48), Gill Wallis (35:01) and Sally Watson (36:03). At Flatts Lane, Adrian Cottam finished in 25:01 with Claire Chapman (29:10) and Michelle Dale (37:48), at Tees Barrage, Emma Good ran there in 24:22 with Emily Beaumont (25:28) and Ian Scott (34:44), while at Catterick Janette Croft finished in 29:42. Rebecca Howard ran at Bedgebury Pinetum in 22:18 while in the capital, Michael Oliver did the Tooting Common run in 26:01 and David Stewart did the Bushy run in 29:40.

Flying the flag overseas was Claire Wytcherley who did the Studley Park run in Melbourne, Australia in 27:36.