Press Report w/e 10/02/2019

by | Feb 13, 2019 | Press Reports

A weekend which saw this year’s club championship kick off, also saw the black and white vest crossing a finish line in first place.

A happy looking Brian McLaren coming into the finish at Cowpen Bewley

The race which would have been the opening championship one last week, though by start time still ended up being the first, was the postponed 5K trail race held up at Marsden Quarry at South Shields. Marc Ellis was the sole Quaker there finishing in sixth place overall in 22:08.

An hour later, the second championship race took place, the Absent Friends 5 Mile, held at the Cowpen Bewley Country Park at Billingham. Billy Harris completed the off road route in 34:45 along with David Thompson (37:12), Brian McLaren (37:26), Rob Gillham (40:12), Juliette McLaren (44:59) and Leigh Hindle (1:02:35).

The first of this year’s Hardmoors Trail Series was held over on the coast at Saltburn. In the marathon distance, Emily Beaumont & Rebecca Bowes finished together in 6:24:54 while over the half marathon route, Luke Minall finished in 2:15:20 along with Anthony Corbett (2:53:45) and Fiona Dixon (4:24:53). In the 10K, Dave Jones won the race in a very close finish, crossing the line first in 55:10 with Phil Rutter finishing in 1:09:48 and Gill Colling in 1:33:15.

Midweek had seen the Winter Beer Mile take place down at Eastbourne, which also saw the first two women ever to complete the event. Over the four drink-fuelled laps of the track, Darren Wright retained his title finishing in 7:38 followed by Michael Joyeux (8:15), Gary Read (8:51), Chris Minto (10:12), Claire Chapman (11:40), Anthony Corbett (11:41) and Kelly Smith (12:05).

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Christian Brown was first across the line at South Park in 17:22 followed by Michael Kipling (18:51), Rob Dent (19:47), Dave Jones (20:25), Corey Horn (20:40), Steven Major (21:05), James Atkinson (21:33), Rebecca Howard (21:33), Stuart Hardcastle (22:05), Ian Bond (22:19), David Whittle (22:58), Adrian Colbourne (23:30), Rob Gillham (23:47), Ty Hankinson (24:03), Michael Joyeux (24:06), Mike Watson (24:41), Julie Russell (25:20), Nick Wadd (25:27), Iain Clyde (25:41), Danny Gordon (26:01), Malcolm Hewitson (26:54), Brian Dixon (27:18), Darren Alderson (27:21), Janette Croft (27:28), Michael King (27:59), Helen Clarke (28:05), Lisa Bowerbank (28:11), Ginny Gannaway (28:35), Chris Land (28:53), Mark Trowles (29:02), Lisa Alderson (29:57), Mark Blewitt (30:13), Diane Lockhart (30:37), Grainne Duffy (30:58), Ashleigh Atkinson (31:04), Sally Singleton (31:26), Phill Johnston (31:37), Wendy Noble (31:38), Dawn Johnston (33:48), Charlie Johnson (33:53), Rachel Grayson (35:13), Paul Ryan (37:39), Michelle Dale (37:42), Wendy Thompson (38:02) and Linda Gossage (42:21).

At Sedgefield, Dave Thompson finished in 23:06 along with Andrew Vernon (23:36), Michael Thompson (24:42), Richard Payne (28:36) and Jeff Marriott (32:21), at Tees Barrage Emily Beaumont and Helen Clark ran there in 26:40 and 27:19 respectively, Nicola Howe did the Hackworth run in 27:28, David Ledgerwood ran at Riverside in 30:32 and Sarah Wilson completed the Redcar run in 28:51. Further afield, Claire and Tom Chapman did the Keswick run in 28:51 and 29:56 respectively, Rachel Maddison and Gary Read ran the Ally Pally run in London together in 35:35, Anthony Corbett finished the Cliffe Castle run in 28:47, Rebecca Dodd ran at Norwich in 31:13, Paul Reid did the York run in 27:43, while at the Glasgow Pollok run, Lucia Minto and Abbie Hull finished there in 28:43 and 28:46 respectively.