Press Report w/e 03/09/2017

by | Sep 5, 2017 | Press Reports

Quakers were scattered all over the place last week, with a whole host of different races on the calendar, as well as several points being up for grabs too.

Lisa Alderson clearly enjoying the run at Middlesbrough last weekend!

There was a huge turnout just down the road at Middlesbrough for the latest 10K league race, the Tees Pride. Over the fairly flat one-lap course, Kyle Cook was first home for the club in 35:36 followed by Dave Jones (38:09), Darren Wright (40:16), Michael Thompson (41:07), David Todd (41:16), Steven Major (41:33), Michael Kipling (41:49), Luke Minall (41:52, PB), Louise Trainor (42:06 and second in her age category), Dale Chapman (42:07), Gary Read (42:20), Gareth Kyle (42:44), Adrian Cottam (42:51), Edward Griffiths (43:40), Dan Rowlands (44:25), Fred Tennant (44:35), Samuel Joblin (44:36), Brian Mclaren (45:06), Andrew Walker (45:25), Daniel Orton (45:56), Mike Brown (46:38), David Whittle (47:20), Rob Gillham (47:35), Ty Hankinson (47:50), Stephen Moore (48:08), Iain Clyde (48:10), Michael Oliver (48:27), Richard Hughes (49:17), Stephen Ash (49:43), Michael Johnston (50:20), Jamie Pratt (50:33), Julie Russell (50:56), Jeff Marriott (51:06), Gavin Armstrong (51:42), Anna Hardy (51:57), James Simpson (52:04), Clare Stradling (52:17), Andrew Dixon (52:22), David Ledgerwood (52:58), Mark Blewitt (54:07), Mel Newton (54:09), Jessica Campbell (54:11), Ian Young (54:36), Juliette Mclaren (54:59), Chris Parsons (55:23), Mark Trowles (56:11), Darren Alderson (56:35), Colin Smith (56:48), Mark Ladyman (56:53), Tracey Plaskitt (57:53), Michelle Scruby (58:40), Caroline Brown (59:22), Caroline Litster (59:29), Jo Dickinson (59:29), Fiona Dixon (1:00:21), Emily Beaumont (1:00:21), Sally Singleton (1:00:31), Lisa Jenkins (1:01:17), Nichola Jordan (1:01:19), Phill Johnston (1:01:37, PB), Gillian Cowton (1:01:56), Angela Clement (1:02:06), Alison Hardwick (1:03:39), Claire Hewitt (1:08:37), Sally Watson (1:08:45), Charlie Johnson (1:09:36), Lucy Bendle (1:09:17), Lisa Johnstone (1:10:42), Sonia Talbot (1:10:01), Karen Dove (1:12:08) and Lisa Alderson (1:14:09).

Down in Northampton, Brian and Sandra Martin took part in the half marathon race taking place there, which also doubled up as a British Masters event as well. Brian finished in 1:24:35 (coming second in his age category and second in his age group for the Masters), while Sandra finished in a new PB of 1:58:37.

The black and white made an appearance in the French Alps when Lucia Minto took on one of the daunting UTMB challenges. On a 100K route from Courmayeur to Chamonix, which took in 2500ft of climb, she completed the distance in 23 hours 31 minutes.

There were a handful of other 10K races taking place at the weekend as well. At Wetherby, David Matthew finished the race there in 41:00 with Dawn Richardson just behind in 41:39 (and coming second in her age category).

Alan Prest was the sole Quaker at the Tholthorpe 10K race, completing the countryside route there in 1:09:02.

Down in Shropshire, Pam Barrass took part in the Spitfire 10K, held in the grounds of RAF Cosford, finishing the run in 56:30.

In the Lake District, Rebecca Howard ran in the Derwentwater 15K, completing the distance which went around the lake itself in 1:54:06.

Over in Lancashire, Graham Park ran in the Golden Ball 20 mile race, completing the out and back route which started and finished in Lancaster in 2:49:04.

The Boshiers headed down to Catterick for the Paras 10, which follows the undulating multi terrain course used in paratrooper selection. Lewis finished the route in 2:20:16 with Michelle just behind in 2:21:34.

There was plenty of midweek racing action taking place as well. At Stewart Park, Middlesbrough, the second of this year’s NYMAC Relays took place, which saw teams of four each completing a one-mile lap of the park. The quartet of Michael Joyeux, Alex Kiel, Christian Brown and Marc Ellis finished the race in fourth place overall in 19:43. They were followed home by seven other teams; Darren Wright, Adrian Colbourne, Lee Morris and Rob Dent (24:27), Lou Trainor, Adrian Cottam, Tom Chapman and Fred Tennant (24:52), Lewis Boshier, Rob Gillham, Stephen Moore and John Whinn (29:34), Stuart Burkin, Nicola Arkley, Michelle Dale and Ian Readman (30:30), Michelle Boshier, Clare Stradling, Abbie Willson and Claire Hewitt (30:34), Bridget Stewart, Claire Chapman, Julie Whinn and Emma Joyeux (30:53) & Sally Watson, Nicola Herraghty, Jeff Marriott and Rebecca Howard (32:46).

The latest club championship race, and the second shortest one distance-wise, happened over at Roseberry Topping. In a run that simply comprised running to the top and straight back down again, Simon Rek covered the 1.5 mile distance in 18:15 along with Brian McLaren (18:23), Billy Harris (18:38), Phil Rutter (21:15), Rob Gillham (23:16) and Gill Colling (25:03).

The first of the Darlo Trail Run series of races took place over at Middleton St George. First to finish the 5K trail route along the old railway line was Dan Rowlands in 23:01 along with Iain Clyde (24:53), Nigel Eddy (26:55), James Simpson (29:49), Jeff Marriott (30:23), Helen Whiting (30:28) and Emily Beaumont (30:56).

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Michael Joyeux was first across the line at South Park in 15:46 followed by Rob Dent (19:08), David Todd (20:00 in his 100th parkrun), Adrian Cottam (20:50), Fred Tennant (20:55), Tom Chapman (21:32), Ty Hankinson (22:39), David Ptak (22:58), Peter Rowley (23:18), Ed Griffiths (23:22), Paul Pomfret (23:23), Adrian Colbourne (23:36), Dave Jones (23:43), Dale Chapman (24:06), Darren Whiting (24:10), Gavin Armstrong (25:35), Stuart Burkin (25:48), Danny Gordon (26:10), Julie Bell (26:11), Claire Chapman (27:00), Andy Whittam (27:53), Gill Colling (28:27), Sue New (28:28), Chris Land (28:41), Gillian Harris (29:25), Grainne Duffy (31:16), Diane Lockhart (31:16), Phill Johnston (32:22), Paul Ryan (34:15), Lisa Alderson (34:17), Michael King (34:18), Gary Read (35:24), Terri Hankinson (36:19), Rachel Ryan (40:32) and Mark Trowles (44:22).

At Sedgefield, Ian Readman finished in 19:35 along with Richard Payne (24:52), Gill Wallis (35:48), Caroline Ridley-Marriott (36:24) and Jeff Marriott (36:24). Stephen Moore ran at Albert Park in 23:44, Abbie Hull did the Catterick run in 26:21, Malcolm Hewitson finished at Tees Barrage in 26:31 and Gemma Marshall completed the Dalby Forest run in 31:40. Further afield, Darryn Wood ran at Penrith in 32:44 while Olly Moore did the Vogrie run, near Edinburgh, in 26:37.

Flying the flag overseas in France was Paul Roberts who did the De Montsouris run in Paris in 22:14.