29th April 2023: Quakers’ Volunteer Takeover at Darlington parkrun

by | May 2, 2023 | News

Photo of Run Director, Rob Dent

IT was Quaker-tastic at the 464th running of Darlington parkrun on April 29, for the latest successful club volunteer takeover.

Thank you to everyone who got involved – whether as a volunteer, a participant or an enthusiastic encourager!

A total of 316 people ran, jogged and walked the course, of whom 46 were first timers and 41 recorded new personal bests. Representatives of 36 different clubs took part.

Rob Dent took up the microphone as run director, and used the run brief to encourage parkrunners to join a Quakers training session to do their running a power of good.

Pacers Rebecca, Dave, Peter, Lisa, James, Louise and Stephen were duly introduced – each being encouraged to give a little twirl to show off numbers on off their fashionable coloured bibs.

Rob was merely a few minutes late firing the metaphorical starting pistol this time around – he’ll need to spend considerably longer on the next takeover’s run brief if he wants to beat his record of ten minutes late!

Gateshead Harriers duo, first-time visitors Peter and Kim Grimoldby, were this week’s first finishers – Peter making it round in 17:29, while Kim (19:31) came sixth overall.

This week saw milestones for Joe HURLING and Edward ROYCROFT (25), Jay PARKER (50) and Lottie MIDDLETON (100). Special mentions too for Lisa BOWERBANK and Tony ROBERTS for reaching the magic double century – congratulations all around.

James Atkinson (21:55) was the first Quaker home in 29th place, followed by Abbie Hull (22:29), Dave Todd (22:32) and Fred Tennant (22:34). Ian Burgess made it round in 22:50, then came Ian Hart (23:38), Dave Jones (23:49), Louise Trainor (24:54) and Rob Gillham (24:59). Stuart Masterman was just moments behind in 25:01, with Ian Bond (25:05) and Helen Spaven (25:06) for company. Will Todd clocked 25:46, then came Lisa Bowerbank (25:54), Mark Trowles (26:43) and Peter Cowan (26:54, PB). Bryan Dale and Malcolm Hewitson were just a second apart, in 28:23 and 28:24 respectively. Martin McGregor was the next Quaker home in 29:31, followed by Rebecca Jones (29:53), Stephen Moore (30:07), Lisa Jenkins (30:11), John Cooke (31:31), Angela Taylor (34:20), Carl Foxton (36:18), Michelle Scruby (38:11) and Paul Ryan (39:47). The party at the back comprised of Andy Walker (56:48), Jan Waite (57:35), Lin Gossage (57:38), Michael King (57:47) and Lee Morris (57:47). Apologies to anyone who doesn’t have Quakers as their nominated club on the parkrun system, and may therefore have been missed off these results! Let us know and we’ll get you added in!

Finally, let’s hear it for each and every one of this week’s 41-strong volunteer crew, mostly Quakers with a few very special guests thrown in: Louise TRAINOR, Stephen MOORE, Rob GILLHAM, Paul ROBERTS, Michael KING, Harbhag SINGH, Julie WHINN, John WHINN, Rob DENT, Gill COLLING, Sue ALEXANDER, Patricia Anne BOOTH, Emma CAMPBELL-CRITCHLEY, Lee MORRIS, Phil RUTTER, Heather MCLEAN, Margaret ENSTONE, Rebecca JONES, Dave JONES, Lisa JENKINS, Lisa BOWERBANK, Susan SPARROW, Peter COWAN, Michelle DALE, Max BANHAM, Philippa RAYNER, David PORTERFIELD, Diane SPARROW, Helen CLARKE, Diane LOCKHART, James ATKINSON, Alex LOONEY, Andy WALKER, Ruth HAWKINS, Linda GOSSAGE, Sarah HARLAND, Ruth MIDDLETON, Ray REED, Simon METCALFE, Margaret BLACKBURN and Noah WALKER.

And that’s that for another Quakers parkrun takeover. Let’s do it all again soon?

Report written by Andy Walker