Press Report w/e 22/03/2015

by | Mar 24, 2015 | Press Reports

Another weekend and another club championship race saw most Quakers heading out for a day at the races.

At the Thirsk 10 mile race, which started and finished at the racecourse ground, the fairly flat course enabled several runners to achieve new personal bests. First home for the club was Brian Martin in 1:05:32 (PB), followed by Rob Dent (1:08:10, PB), David Todd (1:09:11), Stephen Moore (1:12:20), Phil Clarke (1:12:25, PB), Paul Roberts (1:13:50), Louise Trainor (1:13:50), Andrew Walker (1:14:07, PB), David McLachlan (1:14:44), Diane Vaughan (1:15:40, PB and breaking the club record for her age category), Richard Hughes (1:17:29, PB), Gary Read (1:17:44, PB), Michael Oliver (1:18:05, PB), Phill Hall (1:19:51), Peter Rowley (1:20:58), Neil Harrington (1:21:32), Clare Stradling (1:24:09, PB), Paul Dalton (1:24:10), Jeff Marriott (1:26:21), Jamie Burn (1:28:45, PB), Julie Whinn (1:29:36), Olena Rusa (1:30:01), Sandra Martin (1:32:27, PB), Colin Smith (1:35:56), Paul Ryan (1:36:01), Paula Roberts (1:39:06), Claire Norman (1:41:59) and Alan Prest (1:50:11).

Doing double that distance were three runners over in Lancashire at the Trimpell 20 mile race, where Nick Mason completed the route in 2:14:54, along with Katherine Hackett (2:26:25, PB) and Steve Snook (2:37:11).

Also in Lancashire were Dave Thompson and Annette Clarke who were on the hills once again, this time for the Oldham Way Ultra. Covering 40 miles and taking in 6,000 feet of climb, they finished together in 8 hours 30 minutes, with Annette also being the second female finisher.

In the Saturday morning parkruns, Peter Commane finished the run at South Park in 18:56 followed by Michael Joyeux (19:24), Dawn Richardson (19:41), Richard Coulson (20:00), Ewan Henderson (20:39), Andrew Vernon (21:10), Nick Mason (21:38), Phil Clarke (21:59), David Whittle (22:18), Rob Gillham (22:23), Gavin Armstrong (22:33), Iain Clyde (23:39), Rebecca Bowes (25:06), Sarah Watson (25:09), Emily Lester (25:30), Lindsey Lester (25:31), Matthew Hall (26:26), Wendy Noble (27:51), Duncan O’neil (28:06), Lee Morris (28:11), Joanne Dewar (28:24), Phill Hall (28:33), Michelle Scruby (29:22), Michael King (29:40), Dale Chapman (29:49), Gary Read (29:53), Sally Singleton (30:01), Lisa Johnstone (30:21), Paula Roberts (34:27), Mark Trowles (34:43) and Ian Stephenson (35:52).

Over at Sedgefield, Richard Payne completed the run there in 25:43 along with Jeff Marriott (27:33) and Jill Wallis (35:46). At Tees Barrage, Paul Appleton finished in 25:28 as did John Brant (26:35) and Jeanette Appleton (29:01) while at Albert Park, Stephen Moore finished there in 21:07.

A cheery looking Rob Dent on his way to a PB at the race in Thirsk A cheery looking Rob Dent on his way to a PB at the race in Thirsk