Press Report: 25th February 2014

by | Feb 25, 2014 | Press Reports

Last weekend saw members of the Quakers Running Club take part in a variety of races.

On Sunday, four members of the Quakers Running Club made the trip to Nottingham to take part in the English National Cross Country Championships at Wollaton Park.  First home for the club over the 12km senior men’s course which included challenging hills, deep bogs and log hurdles, was Mark Tallon in 55:47, who represented the club at  all league and championship races over the season.  Rob McSherry followed Mark home in 57:38, ahead of Graham Park, who finished in 58:39.  Next in, and finishing strongly was Daniel Crane in 1:06:47.


At a very windy Snake Lane 10 mile race at Pocklington, Nick Mason was first Quaker home in 1:06:49, ahead of Colin Wild in 1:08:03 and Peter Rowley in 1:18:55.


Charlie Bogg and Dave Thompson travelled to the Lake District to take part in the Montane Trail 26 mile race at Grizedale, completing the hilly route in 5:35 in wet and windy conditions.


In much warmer conditions, Diane Vaughan and Richard Hughes completed the Barcelona Half Marathon, recording 1:42:08 and 1:54:00 respectively.


In local parkruns, Sandra Cass, April Corbett, Nicola Howe, Anthony Corbett and Mark Colling travelled to Gibside Hall to attend their debut event, completing the hilly 5k route together in 30:16.  At Albert Park, Michael Joyeux recorded 16:54, ahead of Mark Robinson in 20:05 and Stephen Moore in 20:08, whilst at Sedgefield, Dave Thompson finished in 23:23, ahead of Ty Hankinson in 24:23 and Dian Adkins in 31:09.  Paul and Jeanette Appleton completed the Tees Barrage route in 26:23 and 28:43 whilst Paul Dalton was first overall at the Hackworth event with 18:18.  Darlington’s event was completed by Peter Commane (18:44), Dave McLachlan (20:37), Dale Chapman (20:48), Steve Snook (20:52), Ewan Henderson (21:08), Dawn Richardson (21:16), Louise Trainor (21:24), Rob Gillham (21:36), Michael Oliver (21:47), Peter Rowley (22:35), Danny Gordon (23:48), Michael Watson (24:18), Jeff Marriott (24:58), Timothy Francis (25:03), John Brant (25:24), Paul Roberts (25:25), Gillian Harris (25:41), Julie Whinn (26:26), Matt Jackson (26:34), Gemma Louise Marshall (27:28), Sandra Martin (27:38), Kristy Burkin (28:00), Darryn Wood (29:04), Michael King (29:54), Claire Norman (30:15), Nigel Walker (30:56), Glyn Casswell (31:26), Grainne Duffy (32:10) and Hazel Commane (34:09).